A misconception of the difference between newspaper and a blog

 

 

Tea Party Congressman Wins An Award For The Stupidest Thing Said About The Debt Ceiling

Tea Party Congressman Ted Yoho declared “I think we need to have that moment where we realize [we’re] going broke,” Yoho said. If the debt ceiling isn’t raised, that will sure as heck be a moment. “I think, personally, it would bring stability to the world markets,” since they would be assured that the United States had moved decisively to curb its debt. The Journalist Joe Weisenthal decided to dedicate a whole section on the online newspaper Business Insider to criticize his comment and ridicule it by giving him “an award”.

Imagedebt-ceiling-stupid

First question that came to my mind after reading this “article”: Whatever happened to the subjectivity of the media these days? Coming from a well know newspaper the Business Insider, I would have expected some neutrality and profesionalism in their articles. Nevertheless, to my surprise, this article not only picks -in my opinion- a rather irrelevant issue “‘a ‘stupid’ comment said by Tea Party congressman that makes him win an award”. Putting aside the news in question, which personally has no relevance whatsoever, I feel if Weisenthal wanted to express his personal opinion he should have wrote it on his diary or created a blog -like this one- where everybody is free to speak their mind about any irrelevant issue they wish. I have read the Business Insider several times before and I used to consider it as a professional respectable newspaper regardless of its “political orientation”. However, I guess objectivity and neutrality are qualities that some journalists seem to have “lost” nowadays.

Nonetheless, I am not stating that giving ones personal opinion is wrong -even if you are a journalist-, but I belive it is a journalist responsibility to give the news, not their opinion.

Leave a Reply

